Tyler Reddick is set to drop to the tail end of the field ahead of Sunday afternoon’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway, the YellaWood 500.

In an incident on pit road involving a NASCAR official during Saturday morning’s qualifying session for Sunday afternoon’s round of 12 Cup Series playoff race, the #8 Chevrolet of Richard Childress Racing’s Tyler Reddick sustained a damaged splitter.

Necessary changes have resulted in Reddick being set to drop to the back of the field ahead of the YellaWood 500.

Reddick initially qualified for this 188-lap race around the four-turn, 2.66-mile (4.281-kilometer) high-banked Lincon, Alabama oval in eighth place. He is set to drop to the tail end of the outside lane, meaning that everyone else who had been slated to start on the outside is set to move up a lane.

Two other drivers are set to drop to the rear of the field as well. Those two drivers, 23XI Racing teammates Ty Gibbs and Bubba Wallace, initially qualified in 10th and 27th place behind the wheel of their #23 Toyota and #45 Toyota, respectively.

Gibbs advanced to the second round of qualifying but did not record a lap as a result of an oil leak, while Wallace’s engine had to be changed as a result of an overheating issue.

With Gibbs also set to drop to the rear end of the outside lane, Reddick is set to start the race in 34th place as opposed to 36th. Gibbs is set to start in 36th while Wallace is set to drop to the back of the inside lane and begin in 37th.

Here is an updated starting lineup.

Starting Lineup
1st – Christopher Bell
2nd – Kyle Larson
3rd – Denny Hamlin
4th – Aric Almirola
5th – Chase Briscoe
6th – Ross Chastain
7th – Noah Gragson
8th – Erik Jones
9th – William Byron
10th – Daniel Suarez
11th – Joey Logano
12th – Chase Elliott
13th – Daniel Hemric
14th – Brad Keselowski
15th – Harrison Burton
16th – Austin Dillon
17th – Austin Cindric
18th – Martin Truex Jr.
19th – Ryan Blaney
20th – Kevin Harvick
21st – Justin Haley
22nd – Kyle Busch
23rd – Chris Buescher
24th – Cole Custer
25th – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
26th – Ty Dillon
27th – Michael McDowell
28th – Corey LaJoie
29th – Justin Allgaier
30th – Todd Gilliland
31st – Landon Cassill
32nd – J.J. Yeley
33rd – B.J. McLeod
34th – Tyler Reddick
35th – Cody Ware
36th – Ty Gibbs
37th – Bubba Wallace

If you haven’t yet begun a free trial of FuboTV, now would be a great time to do so! The YellaWood 500 is set to be broadcast live on NBC beginning at 2:00 p.m. ET this afternoon.

Source link