b58f6d12 69dc 43c5 a6d1 994a16cd73e1 Ames

Stephen Ames, the 2006 Players champion, warms up on the range at the Timuquana Country Club on Tuesday. He is among six players Players champion in the field this week for the PGA Tour Champions Furyk & Friends.

Past Players Championship winners enjoyed successful PGA Tour Champions seasons in 2021, as four captured titles – three in successive weeks, with Phil Mickelson’s victory in the Constellation Furyk & Friends coming between victories by K.J. Choi and Lee Janzen.

Mickelson became the first player to win PGA Tour and Champions Tour titles in official-money events on the First Coast. He won four times last season and past Players champions won seven in all – albeit in an expanded season (39 events, as opposed to this year’s 27) that included the remnants of the COVID-plagued 2020 season and 2021.

The last time the elite subset of Players champions won that many times in one season on the PGA Tour Champions was in 2010 when Fred Couples, Nick Price and Fred Funk combined to win seven.

More Furyk & Friends coverage

Source link