The great Karrie Webb is to be inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

Webb’s induction along with eight other new members of the SAHOF were announced today.

The seven-time major championship winner is the 13th Australian golfer to enter the Hall of Fame as an ‘Athlete Member’ of the nation’s most prestigious sporting club.

Of those 13 golfers, two – Peter Thomson and Greg Norman – are in the category of ‘Legends of Australian Sport’.

The other athlete members from golf are Doug Bachli, Bruce Crampton, Jim Ferrier, David Graham, Edwina Kennedy, Kel Nagle, Jan Stephenson, Norman Von Nida, Ivo Whitton and Leonora Wray.

Webb, 47, won 41 times on the LPGA Tour and is a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame. She also won five Women’s Australian Opens, and as recently as July won a major championship on the seniors circuit in the United States, the Senior LPGA Championship in Kansas.

She is returning to Australia soon to play in the rejuvenated Australian Open at Kingston Heath and Victoria in Melbourne when the tournament is played in mixed-gender format for the first time.

The honour roll of induction into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame features the nation’s biggest sporting names and champions, including Sir Donald Bradman AC, Dawn Fraser AC MBE, Cathy Freeman OAM, Ian Thorpe AM, E.J. ‘Ted’ Whitten OAM, Raelene Boyle AM MBE, Wally Lewis AM, Shane Gould OAM MBE, Sir Jack Brabham AO OBE, Greg Norman AO, Lauren Jackson AO, John Eales AM, Susie O’Neill AM, Rod Laver AC MBE, Bart Cummings AM, Louise Sauvage OAM and Layne Beachley AO, among other luminaries.

Winners of The Don Award and the Dawn Award will be announced at the induction on December 8, with the inductees featured in a special on Channel Seven.

Two members will be elevated to Legend of Australian Sport on December 8 when the inductions occur as part of a Seven Network special. On that night the winners of The Don Award, which honours an athlete who ‘inspired the nation’ in 2022, and The Dawn Award, which honours and individual or team or organisation from this or a previous generation who are courageous, brave, and have changed sport for the better, will be announced.


Karrie Webb AO – Golf, QLD

Athlete Member

Karrie Webb’s journey from a shy, talented teenager from the small far-north Queensland town of Ayr to the world’s most dominant female golfer is one of Australian sport’s greatest success stories. Webb became one of the most decorated golfers of the modern era, winning seven career majors and 41 LPGA tour titles as well as 13 Australian, 15 European and three Japanese events. She won the LPGA player of the year award twice, was a three-time LPGA Tour Money List winner and was the youngest person at the time inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2005.

Source link